Different RAID levels used for data file configurations

1. RAID 0 – This is called as disk striping as data is written across the disks.Read write operations are fast but there is no fault tolerance.

2. RAID 1 – This is called as disk mirroring.This can degrade write operations.

3. RAID 5 – This is the most popular one and provides both fault tolerance and stripping.Parity is used here for fault tolerance.

4. RAID 10-  RAID 1 + RAID 0 is RAID 10,this is recommended for write intensive operations.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s